Skip to content
studiofly.
STUDIO GROWTH

How to start a Pilates studio in India: space, equipment, costs and licences

Space, reformer prices, rent benchmarks for six cities and the registrations to check, with every figure sourced and dated so you can plan with real numbers.

Many Pilates instructors in Indian cities want a studio of their own. The hard part isn't the teaching. It's the first set of decisions: how much space, which equipment, what rent to expect, and which registrations you need before you open.

This guide works through each one with real numbers. Every price and rule below comes from a published source, checked on 24 September 2026. The full list is at the end. Prices change, and some rules differ by state or city, so treat these figures as a starting point and confirm them before you commit.

1. Decide your format first

Your format decides everything else: space, equipment, staffing and pricing. Most studios start with one of three.

  • Mat and small-group studio. Mat classes with small props. It has the lowest equipment cost and works in a smaller space, and it's easiest to start from home or a shared room.
  • Reformer studio. Group reformer classes of four to eight people, plus private sessions. It has the highest equipment cost and the most revenue per class, and it needs careful booking, because every machine is a place.
  • Mixed studio. Reformer groups and private sessions alongside mat classes, often with a trapeze table (Cadillac) or chair for one-to-ones.

If you're unsure, one option is to start with mat and a few reformers, then add machines as the reformer classes fill.

2. Work out your space

Space per reformer. Merrithew, the maker of STOTT PILATES equipment, says a studio space can start at 400 to 800 square feet. It says 400 sq ft "can hold roughly 4 reformers", and an 800 sq ft room fits four reformers plus other apparatus. A single reformer's footprint is roughly 2.4 m by 0.7 m: Merrithew lists its SPX Max at 247 cm by 68 cm, and Balanced Body lists its Allegro 2 at 239 cm by 64 cm. You'll need walking space around each machine, so plan the layout with the actual equipment dimensions, not a rule of thumb.

Branded-studio scale. BASI Pilates India recommends 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft for a BASI-branded studio. That's a franchise format with several rooms, not a minimum for an independent studio.

Beyond the floor, plan for a small reception, a changing area, storage for props, and ventilation. Check the ceiling height too if you plan to store reformers upright.

3. Budget for equipment

Here are published prices in rupees for studio reformers, as listed on 24 September 2026.

EquipmentListed priceSource and note
Merrithew MPX Essential Reformer (marketed as a start-up studio reformer)Rs 3,71,876IndoPilates, Merrithew's India reseller; GST not stated
Merrithew SPX Max Reformer (commercial)Rs 4,52,476IndoPilates; GST not stated
Merrithew V2 Max Reformer (premium)Rs 6,19,876IndoPilates; GST not stated
Merrithew Complete Studio Package (4 reformers, a Cadillac, 2 chairs, barrels)Rs 38,19,076IndoPilates; excludes freight, customs, import duties and local taxes
Jacomo Aura wooden reformer (5 springs)₹2,14,500Amazon.in, "inclusive of all taxes"; marketplace prices change often

Watch for boards sold as reformers. Many low-priced "reformers" on marketplaces are boards with bands, not spring reformers. One listing at ₹49,964 describes a 109 cm, 7.5 kg board with latex ropes. For a studio, check the carriage, springs, frame length and weight before you buy.

A worked example. Four MPX Essential reformers at the listed price come to Rs 14,87,504, before GST, freight and installation. Four SPX Max reformers come to Rs 18,09,904 on the same basis. Ask the seller for a written quote that states GST, delivery and warranty.

Small props cost far less. Published prices include:

  • a Pilates ring for ₹899 (Decathlon) or Rs 2,603 (Merrithew);
  • a studio mat for Rs 4,960 (Merrithew Express) or Rs 2,200 (Gymline);
  • a 75 cm stability ball for Rs 5,828;
  • a resistance band for Rs 1,053.

A mat studio can equip a class of ten for a small fraction of one reformer's price.

4. Benchmark your rent

Rent is usually your largest monthly cost. Two published benchmarks help you sense-check a quote, though neither is exactly what a studio pays.

Office rents (Knight Frank, H1 2026), the average transacted rent per sq ft per month:

  • Mumbai ₹130
  • Delhi NCR ₹106
  • Bengaluru ₹102
  • Pune ₹81.7
  • Hyderabad ₹80
  • Chennai ₹74.5

Prime high-street retail (Cushman & Wakefield, Q2 2026), the ground-floor asking rent per sq ft per month, for selected streets:

  • Indiranagar 100 Feet Road, Bengaluru: ₹363
  • Koregaon Park, Pune: ₹350
  • Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad: ₹250
  • Anna Nagar 2nd Avenue, Chennai: ₹200
  • Sector 18, Noida: ₹220

The retail figures are for prime ground-floor shops on busy streets, measured on carpet area. The office figures are city averages. A first- or second-floor studio in a residential-commercial area will usually pay less than either, so use them as upper limits. When you compare quotes, check the basis too: carpet, built-up and super built-up areas differ.

5. Registrations and licences to check

Requirements depend on your state, your city and your building. What follows is what to check and where; it isn't legal advice. Confirm the current rules on the official portal, and speak to a chartered accountant or lawyer before you open.

GST registration. Under the CGST Act, a business must register once its aggregate turnover in a financial year exceeds ₹20 lakh. The threshold is ₹10 lakh in the special category States, which CBIC lists as Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura. How your classes are taxed depends on how your services are classified, so ask your CA before you set prices.

Shop and Establishment registration. This is a state law, and the rules differ:

  • In Maharashtra, establishments with ten or more workers register in Form A, and smaller ones file an intimation in Form F.
  • In Karnataka, you apply in Form A within 30 days of starting, through the e-Karmika portal.
  • In Telangana, a new establishment registers within 30 days of starting work.

Check your own state's labour department portal.

Municipal trade licence. Most city corporations license businesses on their premises. In Hyderabad, GHMC issues trade licences online, and the fee depends on your floor area and road width: ₹3, ₹4 or ₹6 per sq ft. Bengaluru's trade licensing has moved to the Greater Bengaluru Authority. Check your own corporation's site.

Fire safety. Fire NOC rules turn on the building's height, area and use, not only on your business. In Telangana, a fire NOC is needed for commercial buildings over 15 m and for public-congregation buildings above set sizes. Delhi's amended rules list all assembly buildings, and business buildings over 15 m. If you're in an existing building, ask your landlord for the building's fire NOC, and confirm with the local fire service what applies to your use.

Music licences. If you play recorded music in classes, licensing bodies say you need a licence:

  • PPL India's gym and exercise-class tariff starts at ₹15,000 a year for up to 1,500 sq ft in A-class cities, which include Mumbai, Delhi NCR, Chennai, Bengaluru and Hyderabad. It's ₹9,000 in B-class cities such as Pune.
  • IPRS says gyms need its licence separately from PPL. Its tariff for service premises starts at ₹10,000 a year for up to 5,000 sq ft.

These are the bodies' own tariffs and positions. If you're unsure which applies, ask them for a written confirmation of your category.

6. Get certified, and hire certified instructors

Clients often ask where an instructor trained. Programmes with an official presence in India include:

  • BASI Pilates, which teaches through Power Pilates Academy in Delhi NCR;
  • STOTT PILATES (Merrithew), whose India page says it has academy partners in the region.

Check course dates directly with each programme, because they change often. If you plan to hire, decide early which certifications you'll accept, so your classes feel consistent from one instructor to the next.

7. Plan how you'll run the studio

Before your first class, decide how the everyday parts will work:

  • Booking and capacity. In a reformer class, each machine is a place, so you need a firm limit per class and a clear view of who's booked.
  • Packs and memberships. Decide how you'll price class packs, monthly memberships and private-session packages. Our research on Pilates and yoga class prices in six Indian cities shows what studios publish today.
  • Cancellations. Set a cancellation window and a no-show rule before opening day. In a class of six, one empty machine matters.
  • Payments and invoices. Decide how members will pay (UPI, card, bank transfer), and how you'll issue invoices once you're registered for GST.
  • Reminders. Decide how members hear about renewals and payments due. Our WhatsApp fee reminder templates are a good start.

StudioFly handles several of these:

  • reformer and mat classes with a participant limit on each;
  • class packs, with credits deducted when a member attends;
  • private-session packages;
  • a cancellation window per class, with late cancellations and no-shows costing a credit;
  • UPI payments and invoices.

Members book a place in a class, not a specific machine, and member waitlists aren't in the app yet. See Pilates studio software for the full picture.

Sources (checked 24 September 2026)

  • Merrithew, space planning (blog, 27 January 2016): merrithew.com/blog/post/2016-01-27/making-the-most-of-it-maximizing-your-reformer-space
  • BASI Pilates India, studio format and education: basipilates.com/india/ and basipilates.com/india-education/
  • IndoPilates (Merrithew India reseller), reformer, package and prop prices: indiapilates.com
  • Merrithew, India distributor page: merrithew.com/distributors/india
  • Amazon.in listing, Jacomo Aura reformer: amazon.in/dp/B01M5E0CZ7
  • Knight Frank, India Real Estate: Office and Residential Market, H1 2026: content.knightfrank.com/research/3116
  • Cushman & Wakefield, India retail MarketBeats, Q2 2026 (Mumbai, Delhi NCR, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Pune): cushmanwakefield.com
  • CGST Act, 2017, section 22: taxinformation.cbic.gov.in
  • CBIC, GST: An Update (special category States): cbic-gst.gov.in
  • Maharashtra Shops and Establishments Rules, 2018: mahakamgar.maharashtra.gov.in
  • Karnataka e-Karmika portal: ekarmika.karnataka.gov.in
  • Telangana Shops and Establishments Act, 1988: labour.telangana.gov.in
  • GHMC trade licence and fee rates: ghmc.gov.in/Trade.aspx
  • Telangana Fire Services FAQ: fire.telangana.gov.in
  • Delhi Fire Service (Amendment) Rules, 2025: dfs.delhi.gov.in
  • PPL India, gymnasiums and exercise classes tariff: pplindia.org/tariffs
  • IPRS, licensing and service-premises tariff: iprs.org
KEEP READING

More from the journal

Studio growth

How to run a dance academy in India: batches, fees and attendance

The everyday systems behind a well-run academy: batches that fit your students, a fee cycle that holds, attendance you can trust and parents who stay informed.

Read the article
Research

Pilates and yoga class prices in India, 2026: research across 6 cities

211 published prices from 42 studios in Mumbai, Delhi NCR, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai and Pune: what a reformer, mat or yoga class costs, and how studios package it.

Read the article
Studio growth

WhatsApp fee reminder messages for studios: 30 templates in English and Hindi

Fifteen fee-reminder situations, each with an English and a Hindi message you can copy, plus the timing and tone that keep reminders polite.

Read the article